PDF Subscribe


International Academic Advisory Board


The VWI International Academic Advisory Board is made up of internationally recognised experts, at least nine of whom must be researching abroad and at most three of whom may be working in Austria. Like the Board of Directors, the Academic Advisory Board is elected for a period of three years by the General Assembly. The members of the Academic Board are distinguished persons who, beyond their academic qualifications in their respective fields, have a broad interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary range of experience with the treatment of the topics and tasks of the Vienna Wiesenthal Institute (VWI). The Academic Advisory Board has a key role in the design of the institute’s research and education programme.


The International Academic Advisory Board makes recommendations on:

  • core areas of research and education (in the shape of 3-year programmes),
  • award of fellowships,
  • award of research projects,
  • award of education projects (exhibitions, installations and other interventions in the public sphere, internet projects, education and seminar projects, etc.),
  • realisation of conferences and events series or of individual events for the professional public as well as the general public,
  • realisation of publication projects.



The Board of Director’s operative decisions are to concur with the recommendations made by the Academic Advisory Board. The Board’s decisions may only deviate from the Academic Advisory Board's recommendations for sound reasons. When planning the budget, the Board of Directors has to heed long-term research and education core areas.


Beyond that, the International Academic Advisory Board controls the quality of the research and education programme.


In order to fulfil the responsibilities entailed in its function, the International Academic Advisory Board meets at least once a year, with the meetings held in Vienna. The International Academic Advisory Board is free to invite further co-opted members and to delegate decisions to those. Candidates for this role include – but are not limited to – artists and writers whose contribution is to ensure that questions of presentation and education may be treated innovatively.


Current members of the International Academic Advisory Board are:

Nanci Adler (Instituut voor Oorlogs-, Holocaust- en Genocidestudies – NIOD, Amsterdam)

Peter Black (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington)

Susanne Heim (Document Collection “The Persecution and Murder of the European Jews by Nazi Germany, 1933–1945”)

Robert Graham Knight (University College London)

Dan Michman (Yad Vashem, Jerusalem; Bar-Ilan University, Ramat Gan)

Dirk Moses (The City College of New York)

Dirk Rupnow (Universität Innsbruck)

Irina Sherbakova (Международное историко-просветительское, правозащитное и благотворительное общество „Мемориал – International Society Memorial, Moskau)

Sybille Steinbacher (Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, Fritz Bauer Institut)

Dominique Trimbur (Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, Paris)

Yfaat Weiss (Dubnow Institut, Leipzig/Hebrew University, Jerusalem)


Former Members of the International Academic Advisory Board



Jolanta Ambrosewicz-Jacobs (Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Kraków: 2013–2020)
David Bankier
(Yad Vashem, Jerusalem: 2006–2009)
Omer Bartov (Brown University, Providence: 2006–2009)
Włodzimierz Borodziej (Uniwersytet Warszawski: 2006–2009)
Gustavo Corni (Università degli Studi di Trento, Trento: 2010–2017)
Dan Diner (The Hebrew University, Jerusalem/Simon-Dubnow-Institut, Universität Leipzig: 2006–2009)
Atina Grossmann (The Cooper Union, New York: 2006–2009)
Raul Hilberg (2006–2007)
Gertrud Koch (Freie Universität Berlin: 2006–2009)
András Kovács (Central European University, Budapest: 2006–2009)
Éva Kovács (Hungarian Academy of Sciences: 2010-2012)
Peter Longerich (Research Centre for the Holocaust and Twentieth-Century History Royal Holloway - University of London: 2010-2012)
Andrei Markovits (University of Michigan: 2006–2009)
Robert Jan van Pelt (University of Waterloo, Ontario: 2010–2017)
Dieter Pohl (Universität Klagenfurt: 2010–2016)
Peter Pulzer (All Souls College, Oxford: 2006–2009)
Gabriele Rosenthal (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen: 2006–2009)
Tom Segev (Jerusalem: 2006–2009)
Annette Wieviorka (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris: 2006–2009)
Ruth Wodak (Lancaster University: 2006–2009)


May 2024
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

The Vienna Wiesenthal Institute for Holocaust Studies (VWI) is funded by:


bmbwf en 179


wienkultur 179


 BKA Logo srgb